Soup Restaurant (三盅两件) @ Compass Point

11 JUL 2009

As a belated birthday dinner celebration with some of my aunts and uncle, we went to Soup Restaurant @ Compass Point… Well, I am not exactly a herbal soup person, so Wifey & I have yet step into any of the Soup Restaurants since our return to Singapore… Then again, after such a heavy durian afternoon tea break, why not have some soup and something light!

Soup Restaurant 三盅两件 @ Compass Point

Soup Restaurant 三盅两件 @ Compass Point

Soup Restaurant gave me a very Dian Xiao Er feel in terms of service and settings… and the place was packed… We waited briefly and looked through the menu. Everyone chose their soups and we decide to share a Chicken Soup. Aunt did the rest of the ordering and remarked that this place serve an excellent Samsui Ginger Chicken

The Chicken Soup came and I did not quite like it due to the bitterness of the herbs…

Chicken Soup

Chicken Soup (淮山杞子参须炖鸡汤)

The Samsui Ginger Chicken was quite good. The chicken was tender and the Samsui Ginger sauce was excellent… The essence of this dish really lies in the great tasting Ginger sauce… However, this Chicken dish is actually quite similar to what mom can make and I actually grew up on something comparable… Thus, it did not awed me that much. I can see how this Samsui Ginger Chicken can be a favourite of many!

Samsui Ginger Chicken

Samsui Ginger Chicken (三水美茸鸡)

Stir-fried with mini dried shrimps, I found the vegetable dish to be a tad salty… Then again, it may be all right with steamed rice though for tonight, we ordered two different types of noodles to share…

阿婆番薯叶

阿婆番薯叶

One of the noodles ordered was the Penang Fried Mee Sua and it was probably the better of the two. Nicely fried with lots of ingredients within… I see nod of approvals around the table… I thought it could do even better with a little more wok hei

槟城炒面线

槟城炒面线

The other noodle was the 鱼片炒生面 and it was all right… Though the smooth fish slices were tasted fresh and quite excellent, it gravy just did not quite work as well with the 生面 as I hoped for. I know I definitely had better type of 生面 before…

鱼片炒生面

鱼片炒生面

Well, although I didn’t foot the bill, I sneak a peek to find that the dinner was close to $90.00… Considering we had 3 soups in all, a small serve of chicken, vegetable and two noodles, I thought it wasn’t as cheap as I had expected it to be… Don’t quite see us to be coming back to the Soup Restaurant chain anytime soon…

 

My Final Rating: 6/10

Address:
1 Sengkang Square, #03-16/17 Compass Point Shopping Centre, Singapore

Leave a Reply

