Sage @ Mohamed Sultan Road

Prologue:

I have always been very curious about what lies behind the frosted glass doors of Sage, the Restaurant everytime I walked pass… To me, the simplicity of its exterior gives it a sense of solitariness… exclusiveness… Its a place we would never have ventured in by ourselves…  

Sage, The Restaurant...

Sage, The Restaurant...

The introduction to Sage came over a casual meal with Dave which really stemmed from a candid discussion about the Duck Confit served in another restaurant… He highly recommended that we try the Duck Confit at Sage, and suggested Sage’s Executive Set Lunch… We set a day, a time, and I awaited with rather high expectation…

15 MAY 2009

Approaching the imposing frosted glass door, I stole a breath before entering… Stepping in, our party of 3 (Dave, my cousin Mandy & myself… wifey can’t make it due to work…) were greeted by the friendly & poised staff, and later by Kimberly, the very humble manageress of Sage. The interior was nicely done up. Simple yet with a touch of elegance. I particularly liked the towering wine cabinet and the view into their huge open kitchen.

Looking at their Executive Set Lunch Menu (3-course starting from $38++ or 4-course meal starting from $45++), I can really appreciate the flexibility which really empower the diners. The lunch menu consists of  Appetizers (4 items), Soups (2 items), Mains (7 items), and  Desserts (4 items), and a 3-course meal is a selection of any 3 items from any of the 3 different categories. Everyone went with the 3-course meal and logged in their respective selections.

Complementary Bread

Complementary Bread

First came the Complementary Bread which was presented wrapped orderly within the napkin which help held its warmth… The lightly herbed bread was soft, with a pleasant chewy texture to it… Wifey would’ve loved this especially with the olive oil and balsamic vinegar…

Crabby thing...

Crab & Tomato

Mandy choice for the appetizer was the Crab & Tomato. Its a crab claw salad marinated with avocado havarois, vine ripe tomato gazpacho and green celery nage.  It looked like a simple appetizer. I had a couple little scoops and found it to be rather light and refreshing. This appetizer felt  immensely complex to the palate with a distinctive aftertaste of celery which lingers on.

Asparagus & Egg

Asparagus & Egg

Dave ordered the Asparagus & Egg (shown above with an extra Egg). Imagine an egg coated in Parmigiano Reggiano… deep fried! This is served with poached green asparagus, purple cress and sauce vierge. With the yolk within still slightly runny, this combination is simply mouth-watering! I will be going for this appetizer on my next visit for sure!!

Foie Gras

Foie Gras

A fan of  Foie Gras, I naturally went straight for it when I saw it on the menu… Being on the Set Menu, I assumed that it will just be an average serve size without realising that a $15 supplement applies to the set menu… No warnings were given… and when it arrived I literally had a pseudo-coronary attack on the spot!! The sinful mass of duck liver was huge!! Sautéed to perfection,  I was literally in fat duck heaven… Foie Gras at Sage came complete with fig compote on apple, pecan and raisin crumble, emulsion of verjus and beurre noisette. The masterful creation combined well to enhance this Foie Gras experience of mine… It was indeed a filling appetizer and frankly speaking (not to spoil market or anything), I would’ve been more than satisfied with half of what was served (for the set lunch)! Hmm… I wonder how many hours of tennis are required to burn this off!!

Cappuccino of Wild Mushrooms...

Cappuccino of Wild Mushrooms...

After I finished with duck heaven, I was directed straight towards wild mushroom heaven via the Cappuccino of Wild Mushroom!! Initially, I thought… how good can mushroom soup be?! Paving through the foamy layer of the cream of wild mushroom soup (which seemed redundant to me), we arrived at the smooth & creamy destination… “WOW!” Seriously… Each and every smooth flavorsome spoonful was pure shroom ecstasy… Its was the perfect soup for me…

truffle infused scrambled eggs, asparagus and morel cream

truffle infused scrambled eggs, asparagus and morel cream

Served together with the heavenly Cappuccino of Wild Mushroom was the Truffle-infused Scrambled Eggs. From what I understand, the set lunch version of the Mushroom soup does not come with the Truffle-infused Scrambled Eggs… But Dave made the necessary arrangements during reservation for it to be served together…  Simply put… “WOW number 2”!! The creative concoction, presented within the egg-shell was smooth, creamy, and with the distintictive taste of truffle… Excellent!!

Cod

Cod

The Cod ($15 supplement applies to set menu) came soon after for Mandy… I have to say, presentation is an art here at Sage. On the gratin of salt cod confit (sun dried tomatoes and russet potatoes, emulsion of basil pesto and clam broth) lies the roasted fillet of cod topped with prawn and cognac butter. Alas, my taste-buds were recovering from sensory overload – thanks to the Foie Gras, Mushroom Soup & Truffle-infused Scrambled Eggs, I did not register much of the Cod even though I took a portion… Mandy did not think much of the Cod as well… especially after she caught a taste of our Duck Confit!!

Duck Confit

Duck Confit

The beginning of the end of this gastronomic outing commenced with the Duck Confit ($8 supplement applies to set menu) and that literally brought me back to Duck heaven. The duck leg confit is served together on a savoy cabbage parcel stuffed with a fricassee of field mushrooms and foie gras in pommery mustard sauce… and the whole package was masterfully prepared… Frankly, I have not come across much Duck Confits in my relatively short culinary adventures… so I can’t say with certainty that this is the best duck confit out there… but I find myself literally oblivious to the surrounding, and totally indulged in the great-tasting duck meat, its crispy skin and the fantastic pommery mustard sauce… Simply brilliant! The cabbage parcel, infused with the unique pommery mustard sauce was just heavenly…

Prawn Pasta a la “Carbonara”

Prawn Pasta a la “Carbonara”

Along side with our individual mains, Dave ordered a Prawn Pasta a la “Carbonara” to share… The homemade fettuccini pasta was tossed with egg yolk, bacon, and a healthy amount of prawn bits… Topped with Arugula leaves and shavings of Parmigiano Reggiano… it looked very appealing… However, towards the end of the duck confit, halfway into the delicious mustard sauce infused cabbage parcel… way before I dig into the pasta, I felt like I was done for this meal (of course, all thanks to the gigantic Foie Gras too)… Even as I reach for the pasta, the brain did not could not register much anymore (except for the classic taste of arugula and the rich creamy sauce of the pasta)… Also, I was still way too lost in Duckie Heaven…

To sum Sage up in one word… Brilliant! The quality of this meal definitely went well beyond my expectation… I see this as a place for one to impress his/her guests… specially with the excellently priced executive set lunch. Do note though, the set lunch is only available from Wednesday to Friday…

Finally, many thanks to Dave for this great recommendation and for the awesome culinary delights we experienced that day… for I would  never have ventured beyond that frosted glass door by myself or with wifey… Thanks dude!! Will definitely be bringing wifey here… hopefully in the not too distant future!!

 

My Final Rating: 9/10

Address:
7 Mohamed Sultan Road, Singapore

Leave a Reply

