Go India @ VivoCity

09 APR 2009 – [INVITED SESSION]

Thanks to the invite from the guys of HGW, we headed to Go-India @ VivoCity on the eve of Good Friday. (Seem like they are in the process of revamping their website…) Anyway, this is actually one of many restaurants I wanted to visit, but kept missing out time and again for one reason or another…

Go India @ Vivo City

Go-India @ Vivo City

Mango Lassi

Mango Lassi

Go-India is huge. Never seem so until I stepped in… Our group was seated by the alfresco dining area, and thankfully, it was a nice evening for outdoor dining…

Once seated, I was offered to try a Mango Lassi. It was a sweet and refreshing drink and it reminded me of a certain cool Mango Chiller I tried before somewhere, except this was a slightly thicker version… Very nice!!

As we were munching on the appetizer (Papad) which came with a spicy reddish and a refreshing minty dip, the manager (Pankaj – sorry if I got the name wrong) came and gave us a brief run-down on some of the different style of cuisines that encompass Go-India… as well as some of their Signature Dishes that will be served for the night’s taste-tasting…

?

Papad

Following the introduction came a barrage of delicious looking Indian cuisine!! It just kept coming… and I shall attempt to summarize this lavishing feast.

Lagan Ke Lamb

Lagan Ke Lamb

 We started off with some Indian Tapas & Chats… The Lagan Ke Lamb is spicy smoked minced lamb served with a warm bun. I got a spoonful of the minced lamb and did not find it that spicy at all… I did like the smoky taste of the lamb mince.

Next up, the two interesting and appealing looking Vegetarian Chats – Raj Kachori Chat & Aloo Papri Delhi Chat are Indian snacks /finger foods… with very different taste…

Raj Kachori Chat

Raj Kachori Chat

 The Raj Kachori Chat are freshly baked semolina cups filled with Indian spices and topped with curd, mint and tamarind sauce. Strongly flavoured, the chutney within did not go well with wifey. I found it rather unique and strangely refreshing…

Aloo Papri Delhi Chat

Aloo Papri Delhi Chat

The Aloo Papri Delhi Chat is basically made from a crispy fried dough wafers topped with chopped potatoes, onions, fresh coriander, chat masala and chutney. Not as strongly flavoured as the previous Chat, it was a hit with wifey and myself.

The group got the opportunity to test-taste a great variety of mains available @ Go-India which includes the following:

Prawns with Garlic Butter

Prawns with Garlic Butter

The Prawns with Garlic Butter, (Teppanyaki styled?) were nicely done! A touch of zesty lemony zing mingled well with the garlic butter seasoning. 

Fish Three Pepper

Fish Three Pepper

Initially, I thought the Fish Three Pepper were beef or lamb patty until I took a bite… Hmmm… Spiced with Indian herbs and chopped bell pepper, wife found this to be excellent too. I’d like it if the spice-level is upped a notch or two.

Lamb Kalori Malai Kebab

Lamb Kalori Malai Kebab

I have to mention that presentation wise, the Lamb Kalori Malai Kebab was not as appealing as the other dishes… Thank goodness, it didn’t taste half bad when I sampled some of the minced lamb seekhs, which just dissolved upon consumption! Texture wise, I found it to be rather unique. However, one has to be a lamb lover to really appreciate this dish! 

Dum Biryani Lamb

Dum Biryani Lamb

A lamb (Dum Biryani Lamb) and a chicken Biryani (Hyberdarbi Chicken Biryani) were served… Neither was spectacularly outstanding but for me, the Chicken Biryani was the winner among the two. 

What’s Indian cuisine without Indian curries… For the night, we sampled three of their many variety of curries…

Masala Crab Cake

Masala Crab Cake

 The Masala Crab Cake, with 2-3 chunky patty made from crab meat, tossed in masallas and fully submerged in creamy coconut sauce was very flavoursome. I liked it alot and the tangy sauce went really well with the garlic naan. Whilst scooping up the thick sauce, I managed to rescue a crab cake that was obviously drowning… Compacted with what seemed to be a combination of shredded and minced crab, it was quickly deposited within the warm depth of my gut… Hmmm delicious!! 

Dum Methi Prawn

Dum Methi Prawn

The Dum Methi Prawn is basically prawns tossed with methi (Fenugreek – a type of herb and spice), cashew nut onion paste and the rich sauce was even tastier than the Crab Cake Curry!! It went extremely well with the garlic naan too! A mouthful of prawns, together with the excellent curry were just… titillating!!

Lalla Mussa Dal

Lalla Mussa Dal

By the time the house speciality: Lalla Mussa Dal (black lentil) was served, I was pretty much done for the night. Cooked for long hours, the strong flavour together with the black lentil was rather unique… Perhaps I was too full to be able to really appreciate the dish. Maybe next trip down…

Garlic & Chilli Naans

Garlic & Chilli Naans

Diversity!!

Diversity!!

The Garlic Butter Naan was quite nice. However, the hard-working overhead fan (damn the fan!!) took away the crisps and harden the naans in no time which was a pity. With so much stuff on offer, I did not get to try the Chilli/Cheese Naans or much of the other different types of Indian breads…

With that, we come to the desserts…

Garam Gulab Jamun

Garam Gulab Jamun

 Now… the Garam Gulab Jamun or hot stuffed jamun is actually too sweet for me… That said, I know friends that will kill for the last bite of this dessert…

Tutti Frutti

Tutti Frutti

Tutti Frutti, to me, is Go-India’s version of Ice Cream Fruit Sundae with a variety of chopped fruits topped with crisp wafers.  

Hot Chocolate Brownie

Hot Chocolate Brownie

Can’t go wrong with any decent Hot Chocolate Brownie… Alas, this is not made in-house…

Pistachio Kulfis

Pistachio Kulfis

However, if traditional in-house made dessert is what you are after, there is a choice of Pistachio or Mango Kulfis. As most had multiple Mango Lassi throughout the night, the few that wanted Kulfis went for Pistachio Kulfis. It is not the smooth creamy type of ice-cream one may expect. Unique in a way, but I did not fancy it…

After this extravagant feed, my digestion system definitely went into over-drive… Food wise, I think generally everything was very nice… except for the desserts which was generally too sweet and not that spectacular. With the many mains and different curries, one must be able to handle the different types of strong flavours. I can’t say if the dishes here is as authentic as it can be, but I felt that it won’t be too far off.

Looking at what they are offering for their Lunch Buffet… I can see myself visitng Go-India again… I just need to find a few kakis that enjoy India cuisine as much as I do!

 

My Final Rating: 7.25/10

Address:
1 Harbourfront Walk, #01-152/155 VivoCity, Singapore

2 Responses to “Go India @ VivoCity”

  1. White Fairy Says:

    I stand guilty for one that will kill for the Garam Gulab Jamun. It’s happy food. Haha.

    Great pics! =)

  2. Hahah… I am sure you will… Sugar rush!!

Leave a Reply

