Fook Seng GoldenHill Chicken Rice @ Jalan Rumah Tinggi

08 MAR 2009

Jalan Rumah Tinggi...

Jalan Rumah Tinggi...

When bro first told me (a few days back) about this pretty decent chicken rice place in Jalan Rumah Tinggi… I was like… “Huh? Where’s that?”… Next question naturally was “Decent? Sure or not?”… I knew I have to give it a shot… Why? because I love my chicken rice!!

It was actually a relatively long drive up towards Jalan Rumah Tinggi… and on this Sunday afternoon, all other shops were closed except Fook Seng GoldenHill Chicken Rice. Whats really surprising to me was… there were actually quite alot of patrons there! A good sign! Also, they are actually online and you can read all about Fook Seng GoldenHill Chicken Rice here… In their website, the claim to be ‘probably the best chicken rice in Singapore’ can be seen… Well, I shall will not draw that conclusion here…

The Chilli, The Garlic, and the Dark Sauce...

Chilli, Garlic, & Dark Sauce...

Anyway, bro took the liberty to order and got us Chicken Rice for 2, a oyster-sauce vegetable, and 2 glasses of lime juice… (a total cost of $11.60 ). Whilst waiting for our food, I got for us their freshly made chilli, and a healthy serve of garlic. The chilli was pretty awesome, and apparently, you can buy a bottle directly from them at $2.80 each (here).

Fook Seng Hainanese Chicken

Fook Seng Hainanese Chicken

Now to me, Fook Seng Chicken Rice is slightly above average. We got the thigh part which was pretty much as good as any others out there – tender & moist, but their chicken breast parts seemed a little drier/tougher. Perhaps I am used to my chicken drenched in ‘light soy sauce/sesame oil’. 

Fook Seng Chicken Rice...

Fook Seng Chicken Rice...

The chicken rice, by itself, was not too bad. I’d rate it around slightly above average… However, take it together with their wonderful chilli, you will get a great combination.

Oyster Sauce Bak Choy

Oyster Sauce Bak Choy

How can I forget the Oyster sauce Bak Choy? It wasn’t spectacular, but looking at the website… if you bring the online promotional coupon, you may get it free!! Then again, I wonder if it should be updated as the link suggest this promotion expired April 2006?

Anyway the place also serves a variety of side dishes as well as porridge. See online menu here, though I believe there had been an upwards price adjustment since the website is up.

For $11.60, chicken rice for two with vegetable and drinks included, its great value for money. If Fook Seng is just round the corner, I will go back for sure… alas, it is not enticing enough to lure me all the way back to Jalan Rumah Tinggi.

 

My Final Rating: 7/10

Address:
37 Jalan Rumah Tinggi, #01-429 , Singapore

2 Responses to “Fook Seng GoldenHill Chicken Rice @ Jalan Rumah Tinggi”

  1. will try this one out:)

  2. gaz0307 Says:

    You should…
    Its not bad… just a little hard to get to if you don’t know the area well… and if you don’t drive!

Leave a Reply

