Pâtisserie Glacé @ Chinatown Plaza

15 FEB 2009

I came across several reviews on Pâtisserie Glacé recently, and it got my sweet tooth buzzing… For someone in the process of re-familiarising Singapore, I actually thought Chinatown Plaza to be somewhere near Chinatown Point… I went in blind on my first attempt to find Glacé, end up getting frustrated and gave up looking!

Armed with the relevant information, I fared better on my second attempt. I managed to find the place after a short walk from Tanjong Pagar MRT, though it may be closer walking from Outram Park MRT.

Anyway, Chinatown Plaza is a bit of a shocker. Pretty run down… The place is just old!! Yet, Pâtisserie Glacé seemed to be bustling with business, with constant flow of Japanese zipping through collecting orders. We sat down on their makeshift type seating arrangements after ordering a Tea, a Strawberry Shortcake and a Choco Renga.

Strawberry Shortcake

Strawberry Shortcake

The Strawberry Shortcake was pretty good. The cream was smooth and light with just the correct amount of sweetness in it. The fluffy sponge was delightful as well. Topped with halved Strawberries, they were rather fresh and sweet. I think this Strawberry Shortcake can be taken as an excellent dessert cake that is not over the top after a heavy meal.

Choco Renga

Choco Renga

In Japanese, Choco Renga means Chocolate Brick… This is a multi-layered chocolate sponge with ganache. Its rather heavy -like a brick- with smooth layer of bitterish chocolate… and was quite heavenly… Well, I liked it. Definitely a great dessert cake after a light meal!

To conclude, Pâtisserie Glacé is indeed a hidden find. Will most likely be going back for more if I happen to pass by again.

 

My Final Rating: 7/10

Address:
34 Craig Road, #01-10 Chinatown Plaza, Singapore

Leave a Reply

